top of page

The Lovecraftian-horror Trilogy: The Symbiot Series

The Lovecraftian-horror, The Symbiot Trilogy, is now available - worldwide! - at over 25% off!


Celebrating The Symbiot's 30th anniversary since its inception, this special edition is available! The Symbiot: 30th Anniversary, The Nadia Edition will include, for the first time in print, books 1 and 2 (The Symbiot and The Hunt: Symbiosys) in this volume!

"One man's musical passion leads on a temporal hunt through a Lovecraftian world on a collision course with extinction! Reminiscent with Guy de Maupassant's The Horla" 'Seph Sayers, Blogger & Book Reviewer "Devoted music enthusiast and accomplished pianist, Lorne S. Gibbons, realizes the grim truth regarding a long lost and forbidden music as an evil entity is unleashed which threatens all existing life of Earth. As a crescendo of unknowable forces prepare to wipe out anyone in their way, Lorne and Veronica begin a race against complete annihilation. With little reinforcements, Lorne and Veronica have to fight against the god-aspiring creature to avoid further bloodshed. However, when godly power collides with humanity, the results are devastating." Joshua Hubley

"In the Symbiot, Weatherall has created a spine chilling tale reminiscent of the style of Stephen King"

“Lovecraftian atmosphere and themes at their best. Michel Weatherall is a master of this style of horror - he’ll keep you up all night reading, then for days just thinking about it.”

Cover Model: Mary Elin Moore Hair and Make-up Artist: Fatima Abeduljalil Original photograph by Angela Holmyard Used with permission and courtesy from Angela Holmyard Photography ©2018, all rights reserved. Photo editing: Michel Weatherall


"Woven throughout this entire literary piece are the stories of characters forgotten from the original novella, The Symbiot. Written as three separate pieces, following 6 story lines set in 3 different ages, Necropolis is intricate storytelling!

"The first piece tells the story of the fall and demise of the ancient Egyptian man-god, Pharaoh Nyarlathotep.

"The second brings us back to the characters we left in the previous book, ten years later. The promises hinted at in The Hunt: Symbiosys, do not disappoint and come to fruition in Necropolis, with full blown Lovecraftian-mythos monsters!

"It's Modern Tech versus forgotten aeons-old evil, with a reminiscent flavouring similar to Grandma Death's fictitious book (Donnie Darko, 2001)!

"It has been a decade since The Hunt and the Gibbons' children are humanity's last hope!

"The Symbiot Series spans three millennia - from Pharaoh Nyarlathotep's genesis and demise, to the discovery of the derelict Japanese Destroyer, the Yamayuki, to the world shattering rising of R'lyeh!

"The world is at its end!

R'lyeh has risen!

Cthulhu's high priest has awoken!

Ia! Ia! Cthulhu Fhtagn!"


The final installment in The Symbiot Series (books 6-22), The Refuse Chronicles is a collection of sorrowful novelettes revisiting lost & forgotten secondary characters throughout the series; the human debris and fallout of the catastrophic events.


47° 9'S 126° 43'W

06 – 02 – 2005:

The Rising of R'lyeh

The world has changed since The Event.

It will never be the same.

Ancient and forgotten Cults stir in the darkness.

The UNCGSC desperately prepares for a war they know is inevitable.

Tamara Takahara – Tamara Gibbons – the last Symbiocyst returns; the consequences obliterating.

The Machine searches for humanity's only hope and salvation.

Titanic forces are in motion, their collision unavoidable.

The Event may have changed the world,

but the fallout has yet to come.

All will be gambled.

All will be lost.

Be prepared. There is no tomorrow.

(Photo is of Le Grand Rassemblement (The Grand Gathering), located in Sainte-Flavie, Quebec. It is the work of Canadian artist Marcel Gagnon. Used with permission and courtesy from the Centre d'Art Marcel Gagnon.)


Also available is the additional book, Symphonies of Horror: Inspirational Tale by H.P. Lovecraft: The Symbiot Appendum.

Anyone familiar with Howard Philips Lovecraft's work will readily recognize numerous references in the Symbiot-Series. For those who have not yet had the fortune, it would be my utmost pleasure to introduce you to the elder, horrific, and wondrous world of Lovecraft!

It will be difficult to introduce this collection of H. P. Lovecraft's works while at the same time, avoiding potential spoilers. This collection of this master's works can most definitely be read before the reading of The Symbiot-Series, as, chronologically, they precede this series as well as having, to some degree, inspired it.

Most notably will and should be The Music of Erich Zann, in which The Symbiot draws direction inspiration, this musical piece actually appearing in the books.

Many attempts have been made to systemize and organize the Cthulhu mythology with the vast majority failing. I don't believe Lovecraft ever desired it to be fully understood and categorized, its chaos and disjointedness only adding to the cosmic confusion and absolute incomprehensible alienness of it. It is the unknowability of its entirety that only adds to its mystery, our realization of mankind's insignificance only exacerbating the cosmic-horror. Included in this edition are: The Music of Erich Zann Nyarlathotep The Haunter of the Dark The Call of Cthulhu The Shadow Over Innsmouth At the Mountains of Madness The Whisperer in Darkness The Shadow Out of Time Fungi of Yuggoth.

And as an added bonus, Symphonies of Horror segues into the next series' first novel - Ngaro's Sojourney.

“Ngaro's Sojourney is extremely well written... ...exciting action throughout... ...a world doomed to destruction and despair... ...a white knuckled ride in an ocean of mystery and intrigue... This novel has potential to make a very good film.”

Dr. Rongo H Wetere, ONZM, FNZIM Maniapoto Tribe from Aotearoa (Maori Cultural Advisor)

“Ngaro’s Sojourney is an epic adventure that follows a Maori chieftain in a challenge that will test the bounds of faith, family, and friendship.

“In this first novel of his new Fractures series, Weatherall skillfully guides the reader through a mosaic of memorable trials and feats culminating into an elaborate tableau. Always the excellent storyteller, Weatherall produced a brochette of new and exciting characters who he led into the most unexpected circumstances, sure to surprise the reader.

“This solid story, strewed with movie-worthy action scenes and solid character development, left me satisfied yet eager to read the next book!”

Nancy Laflamme



Making his first appearance in The Refuse Chronicles’ novelette, Das Ghul, now the Māori chieftain’s full story is told!

Follow the 1850 Māori warrior in his nautical adventure to the South Pacific gyre, from forbidden and lost islands, cannibalistic tribes, volcanic isles, sleeping tiki-gods, and discover the Secret of the Lost Library City itself!

From the wastes of the Australian Great Sandy Desert to the desolate tundra of Grænland. From his homeland of Aoetearoa, New Zealand, to the nightmaric cradle of horror itself, this adventure is a white knuckled ride!

Home to a world doomed to destruction, Ngaro is its light!

One Ocean.

One Tribe.

One People.

One World.

Hope Rises.


Keep up to date with breaking news, new releases

and events, and keep your thumb on

the pulse of Ottawa's literary scene.

Subscribe and follow us on social media -

Recent Posts

See All

Best Printing Company 2024

Broken Keys Publishing is proud to announce, we have won The 2024 Ottawa Awards in the category of Ottawa's Best Printing Company


bottom of page